jump to navigation

Creativity = getting high. February 9, 2009

Posted by ieva in Uncategorized.
Tags: ,
trackback

I’m still reading the book of Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi “Creativity flow and the psychology of discovery and innovation” and I’m still amazed by the work the author has done!

It it a lot like reading my astrological horoscope- I recognize myself in 9 phrases our of 10. Csikszentmihalyi doesn’t give a key, how to become creative and successful but he reveals characteristics common for creative people (in very various fields).

Here are some more passages I felt I have to share with you.

“Creative persons differ from one another in a variety of ways, but in one respect they are unanimous: They all love what they do. It is not the hope of achieving fame or making money that drives them; rather, it is the opportunity to do the work that they ENJOY doing. (..) Yet many others in the same occupation don’t enjoy what they do. SO we have to assume that it is not WHAT these people do that counts but HOW they do it.”

“By random mutations, some individuals must have developed a nervous system in which the the discovery of novelty STIMULATES THE PLEASURE CENTERS in the brain.” This sounds veeery recognizable!

“Why are these people doing their work? It was clear from talking to them that what kept them motivated was THE QUALITY OF EXPERIENCE they felt when they were involved with the activity. This feeling didn’t come when they were relaxing, when they were taking drugs or alcohol, or when they were consuming the expensive privileges of wealth. Rather it often involved painful, risky, difficult activities that stretched the person’s capacity and involved an element of novelty and discovery. This optimal experience is what I have called FLOW, because many of the respondents described the feeling when thing were going well as AN ALMOST AUTOMATIC, effortless, yet highly focused STATE of consciousness. ” (p.107.-110.)

The words I read in the book really help me to understand better what is going on in me. The author explains things in a very easy- to -understand and clear way.

Well, now I have a legal reason to be addicted to work (: .

Comments»

1. Susan K. Perry - February 9, 2009

Csikszentmihalyi and flow are great. He was on my doctoral committee when I studied a batch of famous writers and how they get into flow for their novels and poetry. (I wrote a book called WRITING IN FLOW as a result.) I use flow as a lens through which to view whatever I’m doing now; if I don’t get into flow as often as I’d like, at least I know why. It’s only effortless once you’re in it, but many of us have a hard time getting there for a variety of reasons. If you’re doing work you love, that helps a lot.

2. irena - February 14, 2009

manuprāt, katram no mums ir tas radošais gēns iedots no Dieva, tikai reizēm to kāds bērnībā apslāpē vai nepamana un nepalīdz attīstīt….Dzīvot, apzinoties, ka tev tas ir dots un tu vari to likt lietā, ir vienkārši skaisti!

3. aste - February 16, 2009

that is really great! i feel very good after reading so important informantion- now i know that i am going in the right direction, thats just great!!!!! thank You

4. balticdesign - February 16, 2009

Good to hear!


Leave a Reply

